Speak to Tour Planner : +91-9560358547 / 9811364534

Char Dham

Tour Overview

For the religious sites in Nepal, see Char Dham, Nepal. For denomination Himalayan pilgrimage sites, see Chota Char Dham.Char Dhamvte Puri Rameswaram Dwaraka Badrinath Locations of the Char DhamThe Char Dham (meaning: four abodes) is a set of four pilgrimage sites in India.It is believed that visiting these sites helps achieve moksha (salvation). The four Dhams are, Badrinath, Dwarka, Puri and Rameswaram.
It is believed that every Hindu should visit the Char Dhams during one's lifetime. The Char Dham as defined by Adi Shankaracharya consists of four Hindu pilgrimage sites. These main 'dhams' are the places of Lord Vishnu and Rameshwaram is of lord Shiva. All the 'dhams' are related to four epochs, Dham of Satyug- Badrinath, Uttarakhand Dham of Tretayug -Rameshwaram, Tamil Nadu Dham of Dwaperyug - Dwarika, Gujarat Dham of Kaliyug - Jaganath Puri, Odisha.

According to Hindu belief, Badrinath became prominent when Nar-Narayan, an avatar of Vishnu, did Tapasya there. At that time that place was filled with berry trees. In the Sanskrit language, berries are called "badri", so the place was named Badrika-Van, i.e. the forest of berries. The particular spot where the Nar-Narayan did Tapasya, a large berry tree formed covering Him to save Him from the rain and the sun. Local people believe that Mata Lakshmi became the berry tree to save Lord Narayan. Post-Tapasya, Narayan said, people will always take Her Name before His Name, hence Hindus always refer "Lakshmi-Narayan".

Book Your Tour

Quick Inquiry

Fill the Form, We will touch with you shortly.